Alert User Management

Black Duck Alert User Guide

Version
latest

You manage users and user roles on the User Management page. You can change the username and details for a user, specifically, you can change the user name for the Alert administrator.

In addition to the default sysadmin user, there are two other default users in Alert, which are the jobmanager and alertuser.

  • The jobmanager user has the JOB_MANAGER user role.

  • The alertuser user has the ALERT_USER user role.

These default users are configured with the default password of blackduck. You cannot delete these user accounts.

You should change the default password for each user when Alert is first started. These can be changed in the User Management screen.

Note: Alert admins can manage permissions for the jobs that users can create or edit but they can't control which Black Duck SCA projects users can see and configure in Alert.

User Management Tasks Overview

Manage users and roles using the User Management page:

  • To create new users, delete users, or edit users, click User Management on the left navigation pane and select the Users tab.

  • To create, edit, or delete user roles, and manage the permissions for those roles, click User Management on the left navigation pane and select the Roles tab.

For further information on Roles and Permissions see User and Role Management.

Tip: When you disable Enable Auto-Refresh on the User Management screen a Refresh button appears, which enables you to refresh the display.
Figure 1. User Management User management page

Managing users

To create, edit, or delete users, click User Management on the left navigation pane and select the Users tab.

  • To create a new user, click + New, populate the fields and save.

  • To delete a user, select the checkbox that represents the user and then click the Delete button.

  • To edit a user, double-click the row for the user, or click the edit icon.

Note: You cannot delete the default user accounts.

Copying a user or role attributes to create a new user or role

Both user names and role names must be unique, but you have the option of creating new users and roles based on existing ones.

The table for users and the table for roles include an additional column containing a copy button, located at the far right of each user, and role. This enables you to copy the configuration of an existing user or role. By using the copy functionality, you can easily configure multiple users or roles where only a small number of fields differ between each one. Clicking the copy icon displays the User or Role dialog box.