Alert Users and Roles

Black Duck Alert User Guide

Version
latest

This page describes users and roles in Black Duck Alert. For information on creating users and groups see the User Management page

Alert Users

Alert users include default users, users added by an administrator, and users managed by external systems such as LDAP or SAML.

There are three default users in Alert:

sysadmin - full system configuration access.

jobmanager - full access to distribution jobs and read permissions for other operational functions.

alertuser - read access for distribution jobs only.

Only an administrator can manage and assign roles to users that are managed by external systems such as LDAP or SAML.

Alert Roles

By default, the following user roles are defined in Alert and their use is recommended. You can create additional custom roles within the UI however care must be taken to ensure you assign sufficient permisisons on the roles to accomplish the desired tasks.

Role Name Description Notes
ALERT_ADMIN Provides full user privileges, and full access to Alert's configuration. The system administrator (sysadmin) default user has this role. This role cannot be changed.
ALERT_JOB_MANAGER Allows a user to read the provider and channel global configuration, and to test the configuration. This user has full access to distribution jobs and read access to the Audit page and Scheduling page. The user has read-only access to scheduling. The user cannot view or change the system settings as these are removed from their navigation panel on the left side of Alert.
ALERT_USER Read-only access to distribution jobs to view configuration. The user cannot view or read data for providers, the global channel settings, scheduling, or system settings. These items are removed from the left side navigation panel.

Managing roles

On the Roles tab of the User Management screen, you can create, edit, or delete roles, and manage the permissions for those roles.

Click User Management > Roles to open the Roles screen.

Adding a new role:

  1. Click + Create Role."Create Role"

  2. Type a name for the new role in the Role Name field."Role Name"

  3. Select a value from the dropdown menu in the Descriptor Name field."Role Descriptor"

  4. Select a value of either Global, or Distribution for the context in the Context field."Role Context"

  5. Select any permission checkboxes for permissions that you want to associate with this role."Role Configuration"

  6. Click + Add Permission to add the permission to the role."Role Permissions"

  7. Click Save to save this role.

Tip: The Execute permission allows a user to test configurations by selecting a test button that is only available to users assigned a role associated with this permission.

Copying an existing role

  1. Click the Copy icon in the same row for the user role that you want to copy.

  2. In the Role Name field on the Role screen, you can change the role name and click Save to create a new role with the same permissions.

  3. Use the Add, Remove, or Edit functions to change permissions for your new role.

Adding or removing permissions for an existing role

  1. Click the Edit icon or double-click the row that corresponds with the role name.

  2. On the Role screen, click + Add to add new role permissions.

  3. To edit a Descriptor, double-click the row or click the Edit icon to open the role permissions.

  4. To remove a role Descriptor, for example, Black Duck, select the row and click Remove.

  5. Click Save to save your changes.

About permissions

  • All Descriptors can be assigned a GLOBAL Context.

  • For all Channel (Slack, MS Teams, Email, Jira Server, Jira Cloud, Azure Boards) combinations where Context equals DISTRIBUTION, you must also add a Descriptor for Black Duck and a Context set to DISTRIBUTION.

Note: All other non-channel Descriptor combinations with Context set to DISTRIBUTION are not valid combinations, such as Authentication, Settings, or User Management with DISTRIBUTION.

Deleting an existing role

  1. Select the checkbox for the role that you want to delete.

  2. Click the Delete button and follow prompts to delete the selected role.

LDAP Groups and Roles

If you configure LDAP you can assign additional roles.

Your LDAP server administrator needs to create the following groups and assign them to user accounts

Role Name Description
ROLE_ALERT_ADMIN Users assigned to this group have the ALERT_ADMIN role.
ROLE_ALERT_JOB_MANAGER Users assigned to this group have the ALERT_JOB_MANAGER role.
ROLE_ALERT_USER Users assigned to this group have the ALERT_USER role
Note: LDAP and SAML users that login into Alert have the ALERT_USER role assigned to them on first login, by default.

SAML Groups and Roles

If you configure SAML you can assign additional roles.

For SAML, you must add an attribute to your application to define the roles. Therefore, you might need to create a different application per role to restrict access to Alert.

For example, an Alert Administrators application is created that sets the AlertRoles attribute with the ROLE_ALERT_ADMIN as the value.

The administrator:

  1. Sets an application attribute called AlertRoles

  2. Assigns ROLE_ALERT_ADMIN, ROLE_ALERT_JOB_MANAGER, or ROLE_ALERT_USER to the attribute to define the appropriate roles for the application. For each role, the administrator should create a separate application with the AlertRoles attribute set with the corresponding role.

  3. Assigns the application to the users requiring that level of access to Alert.

Tip: It is recommended that only Alert administrators have the attribute for the ALERT_ADMIN role set. All other users should have their roles managed on the Alert User Management page.

Alert Error Messaging

The following denote error messages that relate to authentication, which might be displayed in response to user actions:

Error Description
You are not permitted to view this information. The user does not have read access to the data.
You are not permitted to perform this action The user does not have permission to create, delete, or execute depending on the attempted action in the user interface.
User not authorized to perform the request Pertains to the Global channel configurations such as Email, Jira Cloud, Jira Server, if the user does not have permission to save, delete, or test a configuration.