Move projects between applications to reorganize your portfolio.
You can move SAST & SCA projects from one application to another. When a project moves, Polaris preserves:
- Test results
- Issue and component triage data
- Policies
- Branches
- SCM integration settings
When moving a project, you can choose to preserve settings the project inherits:
- Inherit new application settings: The project adopts settings from the destination application, including code exclusion rules, triage approval workflow, auto-branch deletion, and labels. Settings already customized at the project or branch level are not changed. Pending triage approvals are auto-approved when the new triage workflow takes effect.
- Keep previous application settings: The settings from the original application are preserved. Analysis behavior does not change. Pending triage approvals remain in their current state.
Prerequisites and limitations
- The source and destination applications must both use concurrent (team member) subscriptions. Projects cannot move to or from applications that use application-model subscriptions.
- The project must be a SAST & SCA project. DAST projects cannot be moved.
- You must be an Organization Admin, Organization Application Manager, Application Admin, or a user with explicit permissions to move projects.
- Application Admins must have Application Admin access to both the source and destination applications.
- Users granted the Move projects permission (via custom roles) must have that permission on both the source and destination applications.
- The destination application must not already contain a project with the same name. If necessary, rename the project before moving it.
- If the project has project-level SCM integration settings, those settings are preserved after the move but may not function as expected. Review and update SCM settings after the move if necessary.
- Only one move operation can run in your organization at a time. If a move is already in progress, wait for it to complete before starting another.
Before you move a project
Before you move a project, we recommend you check if the project is:
- Connected to a repository in your SCM (via an SCM integration)
- Tested from a CI pipeline
Polaris won't delete or modify a project's SCM integration settings after the move. This can prevent the integration from functioning as expected after the move is complete.
Before you move a project you test from a CI system, we recommend you temporarily pause the pipeline used to test the project to avoid errors. Once the move is complete, update your pipeline's configuration to reference the destination application's ID (polaris.application.name), and resume testing.
Instructions
For step-by-step instructions, see: